The printer drawers

For this post I have to get back to last December.

This is when I decided that I was going to attempt to make two of those beautiful, colourful printer drawers for the shared baby room, that are so popular in Denmark, and very expensive. I gathered my inspiration and paper supplies mainly from Papir og Tapet, a little webshop, started by a Danish mother. After that I went to a hobby shop, and bought two of the biggest printer drawers I could find πŸ™‚ And I was ready to start my very first DIY project, hurray πŸ™‚

I started by painting the drawers. And again, and again πŸ™‚ Each of them got 3 layers of plain hobby paint. Since I wanted to make all the decorations for my daughter pink and green, and for my son blue and red, I chose a neon pink colour for hers, and a simple blue for his. I became a little exhausted by all this painting (I was mainly painting during the night, in the kids sleeping time), I took some break from the actual physical work, and turned to planning. I carefully measured the boxes in the drawers. and picked two times 46 custom cut pieces of paperΒ scraps. That was by far my favourite part, I love picking nice papers πŸ™‚ For my daughter the dominant colour of the scraps became green, and for my son, red. I also paid attention to details, and tried to collect patterns and motives that are somewhat connected to my kids, like squirrels and birds and Mickey Mouse for her (we used to call her Squirrel when she was a baby, and obviously at that point she was fond of birds and Mickey Mouse Club House), and cars, trains, stars, vikings, soldiers and hamsters for the baby boy (yes, we used to call him Hamster πŸ™‚ ).

All I had to do now, was to glue those scraps in their destined places, and I was ready, and happy, and very proud of myself, after all, these to babies were my very first ones πŸ™‚

First they were put up in their temporary places in the apartment we used to rent at that point, each of them above a crib/ baby bed. But now they are hanging happily in their final spots, in our new house πŸ™‚ I will come with more pictures of them, when I write about the baby rooms, I promise πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

