Cherry’s Blanket Almost Done…

I really had fun crocheting the 70 retro circle squares for Cherry’s blanket. But as I was approaching the end of the process, I became more and more impatient. Wanted to get all the squares done and start the joining. Actually I had high hopes of finishing last week, but then came the flue… You would think that being sick enables you to sit comfyly in your bed and do your little crocheting, but no. I was not even able to open my eyes or lift my hands, and to be honest crocheting was the last thing in my mind, both my kids and my husband also being sick… My Mum naturally gave me the good advice via Skype that we should drink a lot of warm tea and eat a lot of soup, but she never told me who was supposed to prepare those healing liquids for us… πŸ™‚

Anyway, looks like we will survive, and finally I can proudly announce that the 70 squares are all done! πŸ™‚ Ok, 71 squares are done, because I cannot count properly πŸ™‚

grannies

Since I was using a lot of colours at Cherry’s request, I decided to join them in a way that each colour forms diagonal lines across the blanket. Here is my lovely sketch πŸ™‚

sketch

 

It was very satisfying to be able to lay the squares out in the pattern and get an idea about the finished project πŸ™‚ Cherry was also very glad, because she has been talking about this blanket since the day I started it, and sometimes mentiones that she doesn’t have anything to cover herself with in her bed (which, by the way, she does have…) until I’m done. That is what I call a motivation πŸ™‚

layout

 

Personally I think the suares are very pretty, cannot wait to join them and see my daughter’s funny little face shining up as she snuggles up in her blankie. Until then, if you have any suggestions about the best joining method, please do not hesitate to let me know about it!

squares

 

6 thoughts on “Cherry’s Blanket Almost Done…

Leave a Reply

