Runs In The Family

For as long as I can remember, I always loved to make presents to my family and friends.

As far as I can see, so does Cherry. She comes home from kindergarden every single day with dozens of drawings, beaded necklaces and Hama pearl blades, and has a very accurate cataloge in her little head about what she had made and for who. A little bit surprising tough that most of the pinkish necklaces are meant to be my Dad’s πŸ™‚ Good he is so touched every time, that he couldn’t be happier to receive the necklaces, because there is a certain little girl showing them to him via Skype, chirping: “Look, Granddaddy, I made this for you, you are going to be very pretty!” Β πŸ˜€

But today, when I picked her up, even I was amazed. She was waiting for me with a piece of cloth in her hands, she, my not even 4-year-old daughter embroidered it with colourful yarn, and she said it was for me πŸ™‚ She also added that I should make a pillow of it, and sleep with it tonight in the big bed.

Cherry's cloth

So we came home, went through our afternoon-evening routine, and after dinner I took my sewing machine, a piece of Tilda fabric I had left in my stash, and some ribbons with horses on them (Cherry loves horses). Luckily I also found a lonely, small-sized pillow lying around, waiting for the perfect pillow case.

making the pillow

Cherry was very sweet and helpful during the sewing process. She helped me holding the fabrics, repeating a hundred times that this is going to be Mummy’s pillow, Mummy’s going to sleep with it tonight, she made it for Mummy, etc. Once it was done, nice and soft and fluffy, she laid her little head on it, to try it out.

loving the pillow

I think this is the most beautifil pillow on the whole Earth, and I am so happy for it, and so proud of my baby girl, and so touched by her warm gestures… I might even going to shed a few tears of emotion tonight, when resting my head on the pillow.

And now, excuse me, I have to go, I have a date with my new pillow πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

