The Tilda Belt

Saturday’s gonna be a big day: Paddington turns 2! Yay πŸ™‚ It also means a nice little family celebration at his grandparents, and Mommy (aka me) wants to look nice for the occasion πŸ™‚

I have a beautiful, deep turquoise warm jersey dress, my Mum sewed it for me for Christmas. And though it is officially spring now, a warm jersey dress will just do fine in the current temperature…

However, I think the dress needs a belt. Something lovely. So today I fixed one for myself πŸ™‚

I looked around a little bit on Pinterest, and found this tutorial on fabric belts. Didn’t look too complicated, so I gave it a go πŸ™‚ I read the instructions once, chose a beautiful birdy fabric from Tilda, that will go in colour to the dress, and went over to the sunroom, which I currently use as a sewing room.

tilda fabric

 

This is how I did:

First of all I cut off a wide stripe of fabric, and zigzagged the edges, just to be sure. Then I folded itΒ in half, right side facing up, and ironed it, to create a crease.

step 1

After opening up the fold, I folded a little part in and pressed it along both sides by ironing them.

step 2

The next step was to fold in and press the edges, just like in origami πŸ™‚ All the way long I made sure that the folds are the same size on both sides.

step 3

Now I folded Β the belt again, wrong sides facing, and ironed again carefully, to make it ready for sewing.

SAMSUNG CSC

Finally I sewed along all the sides.

step 5

And ta-daaam, it was already done πŸ™‚

SAMSUNG CSC

 

I tried it on with my turquoise jersey dress. I really like the result, however, the belt could be a little longer, so I could make a nice big bow on one side. Anyway, maybe next time I will make a longer belt. Live and learn πŸ™‚

turquoise dress

But you can also wear it with some jeans…

jeans

Leave a Reply

