Little Girl’s Tee Dress

I am on a serious stash busting mission recently. Yes, I guess I have a problem – when I see some cute fabric, especially when it’s designed for kids, and even especially when they are on sale, I just cannot help it, I have to buy a meter or two of them… Probably you know the feeling πŸ™‚ Anyway, this habit of mine actually leads to a storing problem of the above mentioned cute fabrics. So I decided that this summer I am not going to buy new clothes for my kids (or for myself), I am going to make them. Because I can πŸ˜‰

Tee Dress

So I decided to make a small, girly version of the summer dress I made for myself, and asked Cherry to choose a fabric from my stash. She picked a lovely, summery fabric with funny peacocks on it. After picking the fabric, she pointed out, that one of her little horse toys is very sad, because he doesn’t have his own blanket, and is freezing, poor thing. So after I am done with her dress, will I make a blankie for the horsie of the same fabric please? Well, of course I made one. I don’t want to be blamed if the horse catches a cold, or something πŸ™‚

SAMSUNG CSC

 

Making the dress again was super easy and super fast. I just picked a shirt that fits Cherry perfectly, folded in half and placed it on a piece of pattern paper. I draw along the edges, and prolonged the pattern at the bottom to the desired lenght, so instead of a shirt, it becomes a dress.

SAMSUNG CSC

Once the pattern was done, I took the fabric, and folded it into 4, with the wrong side out. I placed the pattern alongside the fold, and cut it. This way I got two pieces of dress-like fabrics, that I just had to sew together along the shoulders and sides.

SAMSUNG CSC

After that i adjusted the lenght of the dress and cut a little bit more of the neckline in the front, zigzagged all over, and sew a hem on them. And done πŸ™‚

SAMSUNG CSC

 

Told you. Easy πŸ™‚ Now we just have to wait for the nice summer weather to return, so Cherry can wear it.

 

2 thoughts on “Little Girl’s Tee Dress

  1. It’s such a pretty dress! πŸ™‚ I hope the summer weather returns soon! If it’s any consolation, the sun seems to have abandoned England too. I’m sure (fingers crossed) it will reappear…

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ You know what, today I dressed Cherry in this dress. Ok, she wore long-sleeve shirt under it, but still, she looked very pretty πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

