Danish Meatballs with a Twist

Today my blog is one year old, hurra, hurra, hurra, as Danes would sing it. So I came with a Danish recipe for the joy of all my dear readers 🙂

When it comes to meatballs, every nation has its own favourite. For example, in Hungary we love them made of pork, with lots of garlic and onions and paprika in them. Perfect finger food for a rainy autumn weekend, when the whole family on my Dad’s side is gathered to harvest the grapes on my great-uncles yard and start the process of making wine… but actually this is another story…

Now let’s talk about Danish meatballs. They call them Frikadeller, and they adore them 🙂 My husband is no exception. Frikadeller are made of half pork, half calf meat, and are eaten with boiled potatoes and brown sauce… yummy, I have to say 🙂 Of course when we first moved together, it was one of those dishes I had to learn to make, in order to become the perfect partner for life for a certain Danish boy with green eyes. Luckily I have my mother-in-law, who is an amazing cook, and she very kindly helped me learning to cook the Danish way.

Now let’s talk about minced meat in general. As a mother of two, and a loving wife of a guy who, if he could, would only eat meat, gravy, chips and candy, I need to find the tricky ways to make healthy food, without them noticing it. To be honest, I am quite lucky with my kids, because they like to eat fruits and vegetables, but their father is a suspicious man, and believes, that healthy food is tasteless food. I am on a mission to prove him wrong. And minced meat is my magic weapon! You see, you can hide a hell lot of things in minced meat! Take lasagne or pasta sauce for example. Onion, minced beef, tomatoes, plus I take a few carrotts, turnips, whatever, and grate them into the sauce. In a few meatballs or a meat loaf you can hide grated vegetables and fruits, and your family is eating one after the other, with a pleased smile on their greedy little faces, and they will never find out that they just got a portion of their recommended six-per-day. Hahaha (this is my evil motherly laugh)!

So when I make the Danish style meatballs, I usually grate some apples into them, and they are very nice with some berries like cranberry or blueberry popping up here and there. I made the blueberry version a few days ago, and to be even more healthy, instead of boiled potatoes and brown sauce I chose roasted autumn veggies with parmesan on top, and hummus. No complaints about that from my husband, who just got home from football practice, hungry 🙂 Originally I wanted to put aside a few meatballs, and pack them for my kids’s lunch box the next day – because they are perfect for this purpose – but somehow there was nothing left…

Danish Meatballs With a Twist

Here is the basic recipe for Frikadeller. This amount gives you about 20 pieces:

  • 0.5 kg minced meat (pork and calf mixed)
  • 1 onion
  • 2-3 sp flour
  • 2-3 sp breadcrumbs
  • 1 dl milk
  • 1 egg
  • salt and pepper
  • vegetable oil and butter for frying

Optional:

  • grated apple of your choice
  • a handful of cranberries
  • a handful of blueberries

For making the mixture, you have to dice the onion, and mix it with all the other ingredients (except for the oil and butter). It is best for the mixture to sit in the fridge for about an hour before frying.

the mixture

For frying, melt and heat up the oil and the butter together in a large pan. With the help of two spoons, form the meatballs from the mixture. If they get sticky, dip the spoons in cold water, that helps. Fry the meatballs for a few minutes on one side, and when they are golden brown, turn them around, and fry for an additional few minutes.

fry them

And done. Easy-peasy 🙂

Enjoy them fresh and warm, or cold in your lunch pack.

Leave a Reply

