Crochet Granny Squares for a Good Cause

Do you know Natasja’s blog, Crochetime? Well, if you don’t, and you crochet, you should check it out.

Natasja is orginising something, that for me looks like a fantastic event, Crochet for Kidney Research UK.  It is about making crochet blankets for people with kidney failures, dialysis, to keep them warm while receiving treatments. If you live in the UK and if you have the possibilitiy, I suggest you meet up there in November.  Apart from serving a good cause, it sounds like a very nice gathering. Unfortunately, since I live in Denmark, I cannot show up in person. Luckily there is the possibility to send granny squares by post directly to Natasja, and the squares will be joined into blankets on the spot.

So I contacted her, received her postal address, and started to make some grannies. The official colours of kidney research are purple and pink, so I grabbed some yarn from my stash in the above mentioned colours.

lovely yarn

I decided to make 4 squares. 2 of them I chose to be in purple and following a geometric pattern, thinking about the gentlemen who would get the blankets.

purple grannies

And the other 2 are made following a little more feminine, sunflower pattern.

sunflower grannies

I hope Natasja and her fellow crocheters would be able to use my squares, and they will bring some joy to those, who will eventually receive the blankets. Plus, I had fun crocheting them 🙂

6 thoughts on “Crochet Granny Squares for a Good Cause

Leave a Reply

