A face lift

This is a story about me performing a plastic surgery.

The subject to the surgery is Paddington’s favourite plushy, tigerkitty, as he calls it, not being able to entirely decide whether he loves it as a tiger, or as a cat. It goes mainly by the name “little kitty”, and he has been to many wild places in his lifetime: baby beds, lunch boxes, under the beds, buried in a pile of Lego, on a train ride to Hungary and back, sandy beaches, museums, butterfly houses, restaurants, and most recently: inside the mouth of a labrador… One hell of an adventorous life this tigerkitty lives, and all this, especially the latest adventure with our dog, resulted in changes in his appearance…

Paddington and tigerkitty

Poor little thing, lost his nose and one eye… Paddington took it very brave, he came to me with the chewed tigerkitty, and pointed out the problem quite calmly: “Doggy ate kitty”…

Tigerkitty after the dog attack

Well, what should a mum do, knowing the important role of tigerkitty in our everyday life: I went and bought some eye-buttons (you know that black knob things), but first of all, I put poor little fellow in the washing machine, since a little wellness trip to a labrador’s mouth leaves you with a very distinctive smell you might wanna get rid of.

Then I replaced the cheerful pink plastic nose with some embroidered pink nose, and tried to fit the new eye carefully in the eyesocket… I sometimes get completely buffed over how serious tasks I have to perform as a mum – so much responsibility! Well, I have to say the new eye is slightly bigger than the old one. For a moment I contemplated taking out the old eye and replace that one too with a bigger one, so they can be symmetrical, but then I decided not to make poor tigerkitty suffer any more than necessary.

And here is the new tigerkitty. He might not be the same as before, but I hope he can live a full life after the operation. What do you think?

Tigerkitty after the surgery

6 thoughts on “A face lift

  1. I think tigerkitty looks great but the test will be whether Paddington still loves him. Fingers crossed. I remember my Mum sewing patches on my sisters well loved bear….. He was never loved the same way again! Really hope tigerkitty passes the test.

Leave a comment